Design and Development

For the Character I needed to draw out some concepts first prior to doing any 3D work. Having a solid 2D concept drawn out in advance will help with planning the 3D work, such as body proportions and scale. Secondly, the concept would serve as something to refer back to while making the 3D model.

I wanted to do a female as my previous character work was a male sculpt. The main reason for this was to practise some anatomy studies which would be more challenging. Therefore when starting all my concept drawings I began with a female silhouette.

When starting out I was very focused on reproducing what I had learnt during the research stage. However, as I made more developments to the concepts I began to add some more creative elements to the design rather than functional ones to help with the aesthetics of the character.

IMG_20190524_153129.jpg

 

I went towards more of an Assassin theme. I did this by adding a hood to the character which would add a sense of anonymity to the design.e

I also wanted to keep a strong colour pallet throughout the character design. I went with gold and red as the main two colours which compliment each other well and would suggest an awful lot of wealth around the character.

For each design I tested out a range of different armour variants. Keeping what I liked about the previous design and trying something different where the previous design struggled. Getting a solid concept on paper would significantly increase the productivity of the workflow. Looking back I think It could have been a little bit more developed on the back view. However, overall I was satisfied with the concept’s development.

img_20190524_152928.jpg

Game Plan: This is a page I dedicated to planning out the workflow for the 3D creation of the character from the concepting stage. It includes the software I used along with stage break downs and scheduling.

PureRef is a free reference software I used which helped a lot with the modelling stages as I could upload all my reference images to this library. This included concept drawings and anatomy studies for the sculpting.

IMG_20190524_153010.jpg

 

Leave a comment